Shrewsbury School – National Schools’ Regatta

09 Jun 2015

The Boat Club had 14 crews competing at the National Schools’ Regatta over half term. There was a strong showing across all of the age groups, with 12 crews reaching semi-finals and seven crews going on to make the finals of their events and claim a spot in the top six in the country. The best result came from the J14A Octuple, who won a tremendous bronze medal in what is always a tightly contested event.

The 1st VIII put in a strong showing with a gutsy row that saw them sitting in 2nd place for most of the race in a very competitive field. Unfortunately they slipped down to 5th in the closing stages of the race and will be aiming to make amends at Henley at the end of the term.

The Girls’ 1st Quad also continued their competitive run, coming in 7th out of 26 in the time trial (two seconds off 4th. They were disappointed to narrowly miss out on the final, despite an impressive race that would have placed them 2nd in the other semi-final. The crew will now look ahead to Henley Women’s and Henley Royal Regattas, where they will be hoping to secure one of the eight spots available to compete for the Diamond Jubilee Challenge Cup.

Results in brief:

J14A Octuple: Bronze
J14B Octuple: 3rd in Semi-final
Girls’ J14 Octuple: 6th in Semi-final
Girls’ J15 Scull: 26th out of 45 in Time trial
J15A VIII: 5th in Final
J15B VIII: 6th in Semi-final
J16A VIII: 4th in Semi-final
J16B VIII: 5th in Final
3rd VIII: 5th in Final
2nd VIII: 6th in Final
1st VIII: 5th in Final
Girls’ 4X: 4th in Semi-final
1st 4+: 4th in Final

Shrewsbury competes in the top echelon of the sport and always aspires for our boys and girls to challenge themselves against the highest levels of competition available. While there may not be the silverware to show for many after a challenging weekend of racing, it is important that the crews be given the recognition they deserve for, in many cases, securing places in the semi-finals and finals ahead of a number of other crews in the most competitive events.

Photo: Congratulations to the crew of: Ben Holehouse, Petr Rostokin, Elliot Crossley, Alexander Davies, Josh Evans, Edward Hart, Jack Lockett, Adam Pattenden and Boss Lertthundorn.