10 Jun 2013

Bromsgrove School’s swimming team claimed victory in the U12 boys category at the IAPS Swimming Finals on Saturday 11th May. They were crowned National Champions setting a new national record in the process.

The prestigious event, held annually at K2 Crawley in West Sussex, also saw Bromsgrove’s U11 and U13 girls’ teams become runners up in their categories. On a remarkable day for swimming, fifteen new School records were set, along with twenty-six new personal best times, three gold, four silver and two bronze medals.

The U12 boys’ team comprising of Sam Osborne, Benjamin Turner, James Cuthbert and Jacob Mann set a new national record in the 4×25 metres medley relay. Additionally, the boys were 2nd in the 4×25 metres freestyle relay again breaking the School record. Individually the boys also broke the current School records.

The U11 4×25 metres medley relay team comprising of Catrin Carter, Nicol Green, Alice Oliver and Katie Morrice achieved 1st place and took three seconds off the School record. The U11 4×25 metres freestyle relay team finished in 2nd place and once more broke a School record, and became the first junior team to swim under a minute for this event.

The U13 girls also swam superbly and came 2nd in the 4×25 metres freestyle relay with the team of Abi Saker, Niamh Donovan, Talia Mitchell and Rachel Weller (12.9 seconds split) just being piped at the finish. Their time was yet again another school record by nearly three seconds.

The U10 team comprising of Abigail Moore, Grace Dieppe, Elizabeth Aston and Imogen Vaughan-Hawkins came 6th in the 4×25 metres medley relay.

Gareth Jones, Head of Boys’ PE and Games at Bromsgrove Preparatory School said “The IAPS Finals were an amazing day of swimming for all of our pupils and a huge thank you must go to all those who have helped to bring this together – Mr Camden, Mr Spires and all the club coaches who train our swimmers. Finally, we must not forget the huge part the parents play in taking all our swimmers to and from their swimming sessions. It was an unforgettable day for everyone involved.”

PHOTO: U12 boys’ winning team – Sam Osborne, Benjamin Turner, James Cuthbert and Jacob Mann.